About us

The North Iowa Regional Housing Authority (NIRHA) was established in 1978 by a 28E Agreement. This Agreement authorizes NIRHA to provide assistance in eight counties:  Cerro Gordo (excluding city of Mason City), Floyd (excluding city of Charles City), Franklin, Hancock, Kossuth, Mitchell (excluding city of Riceville) Winnebago and Worth.

NIRHA was established for the purpose of assisting low income individuals and families by providing secure safe, decent and affordable housing.  To achieve this goal, an eight member Board of Commissioners is appointed by the County Board of Supervisors of each participating county. 


The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) provides federal funds and regulatory policies and regulations for appropriate program administration. Federally funded, NIRHA currently owns and operates 121 public housing units in ten communities in addition to contract authority to administer 383 Housing Choice Vouchers (Section 8 Program).